Which Mac to buy?

Reaction score
I currently own a Macbook 13". I am a pastor who is constantly using my bible software, on-line books, and on-line graphics to research subjects and people of the bible. Speed is very important as well as portability of my Mac - meetings and studies.

Of the choices - MacBook, MacAir and the larger MacAir - which would you recommend? I like my current Macbook from 2011 - however, it is slow and somewhat cumbersome to carry.

I appreciate any input you could offer!

Blessings!

Glen

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
I don't know which Bible software you're using, however, both Logos 6 and Accordance (2 most popular for Mac) take up a good deal of hard drive space and need adequate memory for optimal use. The new MacBook in my opinion is too slow and lacks (for now) enough connectivity. The 13" MacBook Air with at least 8 GB of memory and a large enough SSD would be a better choice. However, if you have the dollars to spend, the 13" retina MacBook Pro with at least 8 GB of memory and a large SSD would even be better.

As a suggestion, you might want to visit the Logos Bible Software forums where you can get a good idea of what others in the ministry are using.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums.

If you are finding the 13"MacBook cumbersome and heavy at 4.7lbs, maybe the newer 11" Air at 2.8lbs would be the go. Just ake sure you order 8GB of memory as it is not user upgradeable.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Speed is very important as well as portability of my Mac - meetings and studies.