Migrate 4tb of pc data to my new MBP

Reaction score
Hi I am a photographer with a lot of image files....4tb on my pc internals backed up with a 8tb WD

Just got a new MBP with a 1tb ssd. My pc system consists of 2 internal 2tb drives, with an external WD 8tb My book duo with WD software doing backups. I want to end up with the MBP 1tb as a "workbench" pulling from a new 6 tb drive then returning the "image files" back to the 6tb drive. Then have the 8tb drive backing it all up. Yikes how do i get there?!

Thank you in advance for any help you can give me.

Mike

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum. You have alternatives. But first, a question. What/how much is on the 8tB now? I ask because if the MBP is going to be your central machine, you should format both the new 6Tb and the old 8Tb for the Mac. But if you want to share with your Windows pc, then you either have to get software for the PC to be able to write to HFS+ drives (apple standard) or get software for the Mac to be able to write to NTFS (Windows standard). I think each can read the other's format. I know OS X can read NTFS, but not write without third party software but I don't use Windows, so I don't know if it can read HFS+ at all.