Removing Unwanted Time Machine Backups

Reaction score
OK, I feel like a total idiot. I have been using Macs for about 6 years now but have only recently realised that the reason my MacBook Pro has no disk space left is that it is almost full of TM backups! I have an external HD to which Macbook is supposed to backup but somewhere along the line it has decided not to go with this and has been doing the backups to my HD. How on earth can I access them to remove them, please? I am quite happy not to have backups unless I choose to make them, esp now that I've moved all my photos to a solid state external hard drive to keep them safe, as well as having them backed up to another external HD. I just want my disk storage space back .... :'(

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
Try turning off Time Machine. That should remove the backups on your disk. If your external hard disk is not connected full time Time Machine will create "mobile" backups on the system drive. If the external hard drive is connected full time it should not be doing that if the disk is selected as the backup drive.

One other idea you can try is to download and run Onyx. Run the Automation tab and this will clean out all your caches - which can take up a lot of space too.

Lisa

OP
G
Reaction score
Oh so simple!!! Who knew ... well, obviously you did, Lisa. Thank you so much. The disk TM was supposed to be backing up to is a WD wireless HD attached to the router. It seems to have huge problems doing this unless I select the disk and then half the time falls over part way through the backup. I've decided to forget that drive unless I can find some way to connect it directly to the Macbook but that's USB to USB isn't it as there's no Thunderbolt connection on the WD drive .... any suggestions please? They would be greatly appreciated.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs