Can iCloud replace Dropbox?

Reaction score
Hello!

My first post here on the forum, but I've been using iPhones for a few years (since the 3), and recently switched over from Windows 8 to OS X on a MBP13 a little more than half a year ago.

As a photographer, one of my favorite uses for DropBox is throwing a file full of like 1GB of photos for my friends to see, then just emailing them the link so they can all log in and see it.

I've been playing around with the new Photos app on OS X, as well as the iCloud Drive on IOS9, but the closest I've found is the following:
Finder > iCloud Drive > right click on folder and click on "Share". But this just zips and literally sends the entire folder to the recipient, rather than inviting them to view them on the cloud without actually downloading anything. Sending 1GB of pics and asking someone to download the whole folder is a bit of a pain, and it takes loads of time too.

A secondary question is that I can't see my pics when I open iCloud Drive on my iPad or iPhone....any way to actually see the pics?

Any better options?
Thanks in advance!

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
I've been playing around with the new Photos app on OS X, as well as the iCloud Drive on IOS9, but the closest I've found is the following:
Finder > iCloud Drive > right click on folder and click on "Share". But this just zips and literally sends the entire folder to the recipient, rather than inviting them to view them on the cloud without actually downloading anything. Sending 1GB of pics and asking someone to download the whole folder is a bit of a pain, and it takes loads of time too.
Here's a guide that might help.

A secondary question is that I can't see my pics when I open iCloud Drive on my iPad or iPhone....any way to actually see the pics?