Help With Canon Wireless Printer

Reaction score
I'm a pretty seasoned Mac user (I've been steadily using Mac since 2002) but I'm having one heck of a time with my Canon printer!

It is a wireless Pixma MG5620. All drivers are up to date, firmware is up to date, the printer is connected to my secured wireless network (through my Airport Extreme router) I used this printer for approx four months with NO issues. I use it almost solely for school work (I'm a student, so printing handouts and papers, etc) so during the summer I barely touched the printer at all. Now that the fall semester has started, I'm trying to use the printer again but for some reason I'm having so much trouble!! The printer will not print unless I restart the printer first (by that I mean shut down printer, wait thirty seconds, reboot printer.) I have to do this between every print job, or whenever my printer sleeps. I haven't been able to find a setting to keep the printer from sleeping. I changed the "Eco Setting" to never shut off, but it still goes to sleep. When it sleeps and I try to print, the Print Queue screen says "the printer is not connected." When I wake the printer by pressing the "Home" button, it still claims the printer is not connected until I restart the printer.

PLEASE tell me there is a workaround for this?? I plan on contacting Customer Support for Canon, but they're closed on weekends. Thanks in advance to any advice or help anyone can offer!

For the record, I'm using a MacBook Air with Yosemite 10.10.5

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to Mac-Forums.