First Day With a Mac - Impressions, Minor Issues, Much Love

Reaction score
Posting this from my new Mac mini. I'm moving to Mac this year - work is getting me a Powerbook and I'm going to buy an iMac in Novemberish. But I'm starting with this mini, which eventually will slide over to being a family machine.

First time I've used a Mac since 1998, and the first Apple PC I've owned since the Apple ][e. I've owned all the iOS devices so I'm somewhat familiar, and I'm definitely a power user (IT pro by trade). I've used nearly every operating system under the sun, from mainframes to Linux, but I'm coming to Yosemite cold.

My initial impressions:

• OSX strikes a nearly perfect balance between "easy to use, but if you want to use power user features, they're there, too". I love how much is exposed but only if you need it.
  • I got an Apple Keyboard and after an hour went back to my Microsoft Natural 4000. Just did not like the Apple keyboard. The magic mouse was nice, but I ended up using the magic trackpad which is just plain neat.
  • Biggest hurdle so far...keyboard shortcuts! I have all the Windows shortcuts in my head and End, Control-Home, etc. don't do the same things on a Mac. Not a big deal, just need to retrain my fingers, but it made my first session using Scrivener very painful. I really didn't anticipate this but man do I have a lot of finger macros to relearn.
  • The Mini has been very fast and responsive. I have the 1TB fusion drive and the 2.8Ghz i5. Have not had a single slowdown. I do notice that Safari is a huge memory pig but only because I looked in the activity monitor.
  • The Terminal is awesome. One of the nicest terminal apps I've used on any platform and I do a lot of ssh/terminal work.
  • Setting up mail, calendar, etc. was ridiculously easy - logged into Google and the Mac asked me if I wanted to setup my whole chain of apps and wah-lah, it was done.