• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

howdy... need advice on possible mini purchase for video

L

LDGn63

i couldnt find a spot for an "intro" so here goes.

been using macs since '98 but i am really a novice user.
have a G3 tower(one of the first - old) and a G3 ibook that is about 3.5yrs old.

Now, on to the ????'s

i need to backup some of my kid's videos and movies since they get scratched all the time...
i bought a Lacie external HD and DVD burner for my ibook... i like the HD but the DVD burning is killing me!

it has taken up to 3hrs45min to rip a single (large) DVD using MTR to my HD.
and the first 1hr video i burned took about 5hrs to burn.

do you rekon (texas word) my ibook is just too old (being a G3) or am i doing something wrong??? probably a combo...

i am NOW considering a mini to replace the G3 tower and use it to burn with and do pictures... can anybody tell me how long it takes a mini to burn a video DVD? (ive searched but i cant seem to find)

my friends that have PC's swear they can rip a whole movie in no more than an hour.... i WAS expecting MORE (qiucker) from my sexy mac...

thanks in advance...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
i dont have no mac's