• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

iMovie vs. Final Cut

Reaction score
I've been using iMovie for almost 10 years and, for the most part have been very happy with it. It's been a very useful, easy and intuitive way for me to express myself in movie making.

What I don't like about it is that whenever I've been working on an 11th-hour project, iMovie invariably crashes and I have to stay up all night to figure out how to fix it. I'm not sure why this happens but I think it's because my projects are full of a lot of effects: imported audio, changes in video quality and clip speed, etc, and this tends to overload the program.

The other thing I don't like is when I tell professionals about the good movies I've made, and they're impressed, but when I tell them I made them in iMovie, they start to laugh. They explain that iMovie is "a consumer-level product" and if I really wanted to get into filmmaking, I'd need to learn a professional system such as Final Cut.

So I'd like to know what some of the differences are between iMovie and Final Cut. Seems to me that movie making is movie making, and if it looks good, who cares what you used to get there. But educate me, please. Thanks.

Reaction score