MBA or rMBP

Reaction score
I need:
-Something that I can carry around easily
-Can perform fast under heavy usage
-I can put on bed without worrying I'd blocked the fan, or simply wouldn't heat.
-Something that I wouldn't need to replace for at least five years.
+I use Photoshop and watch a lot of movies.

The MBA that I consider: 13" i7 8GB 128GB
The rMBP that I consider: 13", the lowest end

My concerns about MBA:
-Retina
-Would it be crushed under heavy CPU usage?

My concerns about rMBP:
-Would an i5, even if the best, take me through five years?
-Battery life
-Heaviness
-I heard it heats up
-Its fans aren't at the rear = need to be careful not to block them

One more thing, maybe I could get a 256GB one if I got a MBA
In that case, storage is a concern for rMBP as well.

Nonetheless, I'm undecided. Which do you think I should be getting?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
You do not indicate if they will be new or at least a 2013 model which means haswell processor family. And what do you mean by heavy CPU usage? If you mean Photoshop or streaming videos either model will handle that with no issues. I consider heavy usage creating video effects with Adobe After Effects and in that case the Air will not handle that and the MB Pro will but slowly.

IMO - I would recommend the MB Air. I have a MB AIr and a MB Pro. Their specs are listed under my avatar.

I have used the Air for Photoshop work and it does really well even with the i5 and 4gb. It never gets hot in my lap (where it is now) and is very light, easy to carry around.

The MB Pro will be heavier, you will notice the warmth when in your lap. Battery life will be a lot less.

The i7 in the Air will have a bit better performance than the i5 in the MB Pro. (You can download the Mactracker app from the Apple store for the latest information on all models.)