WD Passport "Applying Privileges"

Reaction score
Hi.

Relative newbie here.

Have been using a Macbook Pro with a WD Passport External for backups and file storage. Recently purchased an iMac and connected the WD EHD to it, and it was showing that some folders housing my files were not accessible due to certain restrictions.

I researched how to change permissions on these files, and I've had the same "applying privileges to "WD Passport"" since yesterday.

I've tried to eject the HD to go back and work on the Macbook, but it won't eject.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks,

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum!

We need a lot more information. Please read the link in my sig and repost here.

In particular, what exactly did you do to change permissions? And tell us more about what you are trying to do with this EHD and your two Macs. And how is the EHD formatted?

OP
J
Reaction score
Hi Jake.

Thanks for the quick reply.

My EHD is formatted as a "Mac OS Extended (Journaled)". That's what it is showing me in my "Get Info" window. Not sure if this a valid answer. I can't do anything with this window/EHD other than minimize the window.

I was working on a macbook at work, and they purchased an iMac for me to use. I was going to start working on the iMac and needed to open some files from the EHD, and that's when I noticed that some files had the "red circle w/ white line", indicating that my access would now be denied to these files. That's when I researched how to change permissions. I came across your site, and a thread had the following link embedded into the post. https://support.apple.com/kb/PH13799?locale=en_US

This is where I'm now at after doing everything in that link; "Applying privileges to "My EHD Name".

OP
J
Reaction score
I also found some info on using "Disk Utility", but had no idea how to use it, and didn't want to erase any of the files.

M

MacInWin