Hello All, New iMac user Here ...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
iMac 27" (Retina 5K): 4GHz i7: 32GB DDR3: Radeon R9 M295X: 3TB Fusion Drive: El Capitan 10.11.6
Hello All,
I decided to replace my six year old PC running Windows 7 and since I don't like how the Windows OS is heading in its new versions, I decided to join "The Dark Side" and get an iMac.

So, I'm the proud owner of a two day old 27 inch, Retina 5K, late 2014, iMac (with every Apple hardware up-grade offered).

It's been a busy couple of days so far, with many more to come (I'm sure) ...

I joined this forum, because, as I'm totally new to the Mac, I'm sure that I'll have many questions to ask ...

Things that I've done so far ...

Updated to Yosemite 10.10.3 and every other update offered in the Apple Store.
Configured Time Machine to use the external 3TB HD I bought for that purpose and as an external data disk (1TB for data, 2TB for TM).
Started to load my CD collection into iTunes; I decided to do a clean install, rather than just import the files from the PC ...

Over the following weeks, I'll have many, many questions ...

Stutz out ...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
mid-2010 Mac Mini OS 10.12.6 Sierra, 2.66 GHz C2D, 8GB RAM, 30 in. Cinema Display
Congratulations on your new computer and welcome to the forum.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2023-14" M3max MBPro, 64GB/1TB, iPhone 15 Pro, Watch Ultra
Hi Stutz and Welcome!

You will find a wealth of information on this forum and a lot of nice people to help you. Looks like you are off to a good start. Very nice iMac you have there. Setting up Time Machine is an excellent idea,

I recommend you consider installing two free extensions to your browser - Adblock Plus and Ghostery. Be sure to set them up to fit your preferences This will help a lot with drive by browser issues.

Lisa

M

MacInWin

Welcome to the forum and to the "dark side" as you called it.