How to move stuff to ext HD

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid-2007 Mac Mini, 2GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB DDR2 SDRAM, OS 10.6.8, 2 x ext HDD
Hi folks. Though I've had my mini for a long time, I'm no programmer so talk to me like I'm in kindergarten :)

I want to move my photos (not using iPhoto), documents, music, videos and kindle books off main HD onto my ext HD. I have 1 HD to hold such data and a larger one acting as Time Machine. As you see by my sig, I'm running OS 10.6.8

M

MacInWin

spazzdog, did you mean you want to move things, and you are NOT currently using iPhoto, or that you want to move things and are using iPhoto, but you don't want to use iPhoto to move them? Your statement can be read either way. Same for music, videos and books. Moving them is dead easy, but if you applications that are keeping a library (iTunes, Kindle, iPhoto) then you'll need to make sure those applications update their library to point to the new location.

OP
S
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mid-2007 Mac Mini, 2GHz Intel Core Duo, 2 GB DDR2 SDRAM, OS 10.6.8, 2 x ext HDD
Hi and thanks for the reply.

I meant the actual photo, video, documents folders that are within the Home folder. I don't use iPhoto on my mini (photoshop instead) and my docs are a combo of word docs, scrivener docs and PDFs. I wasn't sure if I could just drag those folders over to the ext HD without causing issues with the Home folder. The kindle books update when I sync my iPad and I'd like those to be on the ext HD as well. On the iTunes front, I just have movies. It'd be grand if those could go to the ext HD as well.

Again, thanks for the assist.

M

MacInWin

OK, a couple of things. First, all you have to do to move the files is drag and drop. That copies them to the external. Then you can come back after that is successful (and you test it) an then select/delete/empty trash and voila! Done!