TextEdit and CSS

Status
Not open for further replies.
Reaction score
I am new to web design and I can't seem to link my stylesheet onto my html page. I am just using textedit right now and not a program like text wrangler.
Whenever I open the html page with my css link it just displays my html without the stylesheet. The style sheet is named stylesheet.css, no txt extension.

Reaction score
This is the Hardware and Peripherals forum...

Also, since web pages are not platform-specific, I advise posting your question in a web design forum.

Reaction score
While Textedit can show HTML I don't think it can handle CSS. I could be wrong.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3
This is the Hardware and Peripherals forum...

Also, since web pages are not platform-specific, I advise posting your question in a web design forum.

It would be more bifocal if you could help the OP out, especially on a 1st post than hammer him for posting in a incorrect forum. This isn't Apple Community Forums. Staff will move it if needed in due course.

.css files can't be saved using Text Edit, as they default turn to a Unicode (UTF-8) document with a .txt extension if you have the box checked.

If you want to do Web development, its well worth the $ to invest in a good Text/Code Editor like Textastic which is on the Mac App Store and has syntax highlighting for 80+ code languages including HTML and CSS.
Then if you want more, look for something like Coda 2 which I swear by, as the best Web Design Editor with live previews around.

Than again, have a look at this list for all good Text/Code Editors for Mac.

Cheers

Last edited:
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac 2.9Ghz 16GB RAM - 10.11.3, iPhone6s & iPad Air 2 - iOS 9.2.1, ATV 4Th Gen tvOS, ATV3