What should I be looking for in a used Mac?

Reaction score
Hello, I am a lifelong Windows user that would like to try using a Mac for a change after having several computers fail on me recently. I have used Macs at school but never owned one, so I'm not sure which one is right for me. I am a student and currently between jobs, so I can't afford a new one, even with an educational discount. Therefore, I've been looking at used ones on Craigslist and ebay and places like that, but even models from 4-5 years ago are still around $500. Is that normal? I understand Macs hold their value well, but I also don't want to overpay for something outdated that won't last or may need to be upgraded. I am also looking at some models that include expensive software like Adobe Creative Suite, Final Cut Pro, etc. since I might need those for school and it seems like a deal if I'm getting them with the machine, right? For example, here are some typical specs:

White unibody Macbook 2010 running Mavericks
New 500gb hard drive, 4 GB RAM, new charger
2.26 Intel Core 2 duo processor
Includes CS5 and MS Office
$450

Does this sound like a good deal or too good to be true? The weird thing is this ad keeps getting bumped to the top and replaced with a different part of town but it's clearly still the same seller...could it be stolen? How can you tell something like that? Are there things I should be checking for when I inspect it to see if the seller has portrayed it accurately? And exactly what is the deal with something like CS5...should I be getting the serial number or discs for the software?