Shared IP problems!

Reaction score
Hey there,

I'm a complete newbie here, but my faith is in you guys. I have some serious network trouble going on here and no one in my neighborhood seems qualified to help me.

I have a brand new Airport Time Capsule 3TB at our house which sets up a new network apart from my original router, and that signal is being extended by some TP-Link extenders. Everything works fine, except for the fact that all our mac's (and sometimes even our iPhones and iPads at the house, although they recover much faster than the computers) seem to have trouble with connecting. I get the good old exclamation mark in the wifi image stating that there is 'another device using my IP address". Signal is fine, just can't connect due to this problem.

My technical thinking doesn't go any further than renewing the DHCP lease (which works, sometimes, very limited) and turn everything on and off again, which will get it all to work for a limited amount of time again. Is there something basic I can do about this? Nothing drives me more crazy than a malfunctioning wi-fi connection :')

Details:
Macs:
Macbook Pro 13" Retina OS X 10.9.3 (late 2013)
iMac 21,5" OSX 10.9.3 (late 2009)
iMac 20" OSX 10.5.7 (early 2008)

Mobile devices:
1 iPhone 4S, 1 iPhone 5, 2 iPhone 5S
1 iPad Air

ps- sorry if this is a FAQ *walks towards the corner of shame*

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21 M1 Pro 14" MBP, 23 M2 Pro Mac Mini (MacOS 14), iPhone 15 Pro Max (iOS 17), iPad 6 (iPadOS 17)
have you switched the wifi signal from your original router off?

OP
K
Reaction score
That's a pretty good question. The only thing I did is connect the Airport Time Capsule to the original router with an ethernet cable, I didn't change anything on the original router. Could that cause problems? (I am such a noob when it comes to these kind of things..)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)