Switching for Graphic Design

Reaction score
Hello Everyone,

First of all I wanted to say Hi because I have been a lurker here for about a week and everyone seems so nice and it seems like a great community to be a part of.

Okay now onto my question. I am in my second year of graphic design and I am looking for a new computer. Since most jobs require knowledge of Macs I thought it would be beneficial for me to buy one. In school we use all of CS 2, Studio 8 and Quark for various big projects. I was looking at the powermac's but I wanted to know what your opinions are on that or if I should just wait till the powermac's switched to Intel later on.

Thank you and I appreciate your time and help in the matter.

-Erik

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Pro 8x3.0ghz 12gb ram 8800GT , MBP 2.16 2GB Ram 17 inch.
I personally have a powermac quad and I love it, its an amazing peice of machinery, and I think you would love a powermac, It seams like it would fit your needs. I am in school and once I got the powermac, my teacher was impressed with what I was doing in FCP because I did nto have to render as often or as long to see what I was doing, and this benifitted my work because I could fix things that I did not like and make things i liked better. Powermacs are amazing for that kind of work and I say if you have enough money buy the best system you can afford,

Reaction score
I would wait for the switch to intel if you can do with out it.
If your using Macs a School u dont need a Mac as you already know how to use a Mac and CS 2, Studio 8 and Quark work the same on the PC.

The Dual G5's are very nice machines, we have dual 2Ghz ones at my school and they will still be fast in years to come.

When the teacher asked who had a Mac in our class only 2 people raised their hands(including me) so that makes 2 people out of 24, that near 10%.

I really thought alot more students in the design, multimedia field would have Macs.