Folder disappeared from desktop

Reaction score
One of my folders has disapeared from my desktop yesterday. I was working on a document in that folder on wednesday probably. And when i wanted to continue my work last night it was just plain gone. Not in the trash, couldnt find it with spotlight or easyfind. When i try to open the document through recent paths in open office it says it doesnt exist. No one has been on the computer. How can it just be gone? its not just one document, but a whole folder. Where could i recover it from? Or is there a way i can see recent activity to where i can maybe figure out what happened to it? could it have been corrupted and was therefor just deleted? PLEASE HELP! this contained my bachelor's thesis in which i have put a lot of work! Unfortunately i dont rum time machine or ay other backup... im new to mac, on my windown laptop i could always just restore to an earlier point in time... the file was previously saved on a thumb drive, could it be recovered from that if all else failed?

Rod

Reaction score
Melbourne, Australia and Ubud, Bali, Indonesia
Your Mac's Specs
2021 M1 MacBook Pro 14" macOS 14.4.1, Mid 2010MacBook 13" iPhone 13 Pro max, iPad 6, Apple Watch SE.
OK, firstly Find is better than spotlight so go to Find in the desktop File menu or just press Command F but before you try that have a look at Recent Items under the Apple menu. Unless you have cleared it recently you should see your file there.
It is very unlikely that the file was deleted and even so it would be in the Trash unless you empty it. Macs do not delete corrupted files automatically.
Lastly if the file is on a Thumb Drive then yes you can simply drag it onto the desktop.
Last but not least you really need to have a backup. Time machine is much like your Restore Function on a PC and can run on your hard drive but it will use more and more of your memory. It's best to run on an external USB hard drive which are becoming very cheap these days.

C

chas_m