help me obi wan, my printer is old...

Reaction score
hello.
this is my first time posting on a forum so please be gentle!
i've just been given an old apple laserwriter 12/640 ps from my dad, and am having a little trouble setting it up.
he gave me the printer, a Farallon ethernet transceiver, and a Lindy 9-port 10base-2/t ethernet adapter hub. he had it set up on an old g3 tower w/os9.??, and it was working fine.
at home i have a BT voyager 1500 wireless router set up to share my cable internet connection (from a cable modem), with my ibook, a powerbook and an xp laptop sharing the connection wirelessly, as well as an xp desktop wired via ethernet to the router.
all internet is kosher, and all computers are online.
i plugged the printer's hub in from port 2 of the router to port "STP1" of the adapter hub, ran "printer setup utility" wirelessly from the ibook, and turned on appletalk.
the utility recognised the printer no probs, but on sending a job to it, the print manager told me the printer was not responding.
phew.
so, basically, what i would ideally like to do is share the printer with all computers on the network (or at least one of them!).
do i need to make a LAN or something, an intranet? (i don't really know what these are), or is the printer just too old to bother with?
did i mention i'm poor?
this seems beyond my meagre computing knowledge, so i was just hoping someone, somewhere might be able to help me. help me obi wan, you're my only hope!
thanking you all in advance,
jim t.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Performa 6116 2GBSCSI 8MB OS 7.5.3
I'd try to rule out the rest of your network and connect a mac directly to the printers ethernet interfave via a crossover cable. Then test your Appletalk printing.

(1) 7' crossover patch cable = $5.00

Or borrow one if you can. (they are usually red)

OP
J
Reaction score
red cable?
in there like swimwear! one came with it. i'll give it a go.
what's the difference between a crossover and a regular ethernet cable?