New Mac Pro

Reaction score
So I'm new to the mac scene and I bought a used Mac Pro desktop from a local college at a surplus sale. The college tech team wiped the hard drive which is fine by me, but I cannot get the machine to boot from cd or usb. It just brings me to a screen with a file folder in the middle that blinks a question mark and then a double face icon. What can I do? I'm very new to macs so bare with me.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
...but I cannot get the machine to boot from cd or usb. It just brings me to a screen with a file folder in the middle that blinks a question mark and then a double face icon. What can I do? I'm very new to macs so bare with me.

The flashing "?" means there is no OS installed on the hard drive. What CD/DVD or USB are you trying to boot from. It would also help to know exactly what model Mac Pro you have.

Need lots of details. It's the details that will get things understood quicker...and get this computer running.:)

- Nick

OP
M
Reaction score
It is a Power Max G5
Processor 2.0ghz G5
4gb ram
Nvidia GeForce 6600 LE
It's also a usb which has been formatted to a journaled image and the had the installed.dmg file placed on it. I also made sure the master boot record partition was taken off and replaced by Guid instead. The DVD is the 10.5 install disk.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
It is a Power Max G5
Processor 2.0ghz G5
4gb ram
Nvidia GeForce 6600 LE
It's also a usb which has been formatted to a journaled image and the had the installed.dmg file placed on it. I also made sure the master boot record partition was taken off and replaced by Guid instead. The DVD is the 10.5 install disk.

Since this computer is a Powermac G5...then it's not a Mac Pro. Both look the same...but the Powermac G5 is older.

If that DVD is gray-colored...these are model specific...and cannot be used on just any computer.