Newbie - how to disable start up sound

Reaction score
Hi everyone! Noob here - I cannot locate any info on how to disable the start up sound on my bright and shiny and new 27.5 iMac I just pranced through the street home! Outside of muting it - not always a reliable very early am option for me, where can I stop it? Tried my preferences in my administrator, and it disabled all of the other sounds but it.
Please be kind, been years since I had a Mac. Avid learner and eager to understand more!
Thanks for reading.

Gina

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
Most folks don't encounter the Mac startup sound very much anymore...since most folks put their Mac's to "sleep" when they are done with it for the day.

Mac's should be rebooted/restarted every so often for other reasons...but many folks will use their Mac's for weeks (or even months) without actually shutting the computer down. Thus the Mac startup sound is encountered very very rarely.

Just offering this as a solution that requires no changes in settings (there really isn't a specific setting for this)...or install of special apps.:)

But here are some alternatives:

How To Silence Your Mac's Startup Chime | MacTrast

- Nick

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Your best and easiest solution from the link that Nick provided is to download the free Startup Ninja. It works and there's no need to get into the terminal. Startup Ninja will turn it off completely and also turn it back on again if you so desire.

OP
S
Reaction score
Thank you

Thank you both for your response. I have a habit of shutting down all of my machines. Perhaps there is some better reason to let them sleep. The 4:30 or 5:00 am wakeup call that arouses others in the house is not going over well. Thanks for the info from both of you!

Cheers,

Gina

Reaction score