New to Macforums and Mac

Reaction score
I am currently using a very old windows laptop and desperately need to change it,I have never used a Mac before, and though there is no presssing need for me to switch to a Mac , I still want to experience it.

Considering my budget and portability requirements I reckon that the MBP 13 Retina -8gb -256 GB SSD would be the best bet for me. I however have the following questions.

1. I read in this forum that upgrades will not be possible on the new MBP13. I still feel that 8GB RAM woudl be enough for me (my current laptop has 2 GB), but i have serious reservations on the 256 GB SSD. Need some first hand experiences on whether this storage is generally enough?

2. Are there any issues with Mac being compatible with all hard disk formats? Cant i just plug and use my WD 500 GB Hard disk?

Thanks.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums!

1. I read in this forum that upgrades will not be possible on the new MBP13. I still feel that 8GB RAM woudl be enough for me (my current laptop has 2 GB), but i have serious reservations on the 256 GB SSD. Need some first hand experiences on whether this storage is generally enough?

The retina model MacBook Pro machines are not upgradeable. You read correctly. We always advise someone who plans on buying one to make sure they buy as much as they can within budget. You also have to think about future use. Memory of 8 GB should suffice for considerable time. As for the SSD, 256 GB is the minimum I would consider realizing that 500 GB would be more expensive.

2. Are there any issues with Mac being compatible with all hard disk formats? Cant i just plug and use my WD 500 GB Hard disk?