new user questions

1stcare

I am looking for some direction. My name is Marc, I just purchased a MacBook Pro, expecting it later this month. I am a Family Physician and not happy with the cost of purchasing an EMR. I read that FIleMaker Pro has been used and can be programmed using Apple Script. I am new to mac, not happy with my PC. How difficult is it to learn AppleScript and is there a beginner reference?? Also do you have any other suggestions?? Thanks in advance for you help.

Marc

Reaction score
I had to look up EMR (electronic medical record) in the acronym finder, though I suppose any MDs who see this would know what the post is about, and certainly would have more information that I can supply.

AppleScript can be used with FileMaker. Here's what Google came up with when I used its advanced search:

Web Results 1 - 100 of about 230,000 English pages for applescript mac OR macintosh "filemaker". (0.14 seconds)

Running a search for EMR mac OR macintosh came up with a bunch, too, but some at the top of the listings required extensive forms to be filled in to download even a demo, I suppose. But there's a freebie here that according to the page is cross-platform, so I suppose it could trade files with computers running other systems. It will run native on Intel Macs.

There should be a comma or a "that" after "simple" in this sentence, though. Otherwise the app is only for moronic physicians. :)
and a user interface so simple physicians can begin using it right away.

OP
J

jn4jenny

I'm the totally wrong person to ask about AppleScript, but do take a look at some of the Open Source EMR's available for free. Just search for "EMR" at www.sourceforge.net. It looks like OSCAR is a pretty nice one, so even if you end up writing your own, maybe you can use some of OSCAR's forms and templates?

Direct link to OSCAR: http://oscarmcmaster.org/

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20" 2.0GHz Intel Core Duo iMac, 1.5 GHZ PPC Mac Mini, MacBook MB403LL/A