Hello I'm new and need help desperately :(

I have an iMac, 2006 I think.

iMac5,1
2 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM
Intel Core 2 Duo
2 GHz
Mac OS X Version 10.6.8

I'm a freelance graphic designer recovered from an accident so even thought I learned Mac in the early 90's I'm waaay behind now on how to trouble-shoot and fix my own probs like back in the day.

So, here's the deal. I wanna know how far can I upgrade this thing? I have 2 gigs of ram and it isn't enough how much can I put in the 2 slots? and whats the best kind?

I crash several times a day while in Illustrator mostly. I get things like my curser sticks to something and won't let got - crash. that happens when I'm in firefox too.
I have a digital line through my sceen. it comes and goes. If I change the resolution down and then back up it goes away.
If I can save a crash/panic report is there things in it that will help me?
Are there things I can do?

Thank you so much in advance to anyone who can point me in the right direction. ;)

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
That's an old machine, really not too much you can do to improve it. Here's the memory specs:

Maximum Memory 3.0 GB (4.0 GB can be installed, only 3.0 GB will be addressed)
Memory Slots 2 - 200-pin PC2-5300 (667MHz) DDR2 SO-DIMM

You can install a larger and faster hard drive but that's not an easy task. Also, if the machine is displaying problems with its graphics, that could be an expensive repair. It could either be the display or the built in graphics chipset. Either one would make it too expensive to repair for what the machine is worth.

I suggest buying a newer Mac instead.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15