should i get an external hard drive for my new imac or?

Reaction score
i have an imac i7 27' 2012 model. and its really great but i am paranoid on installing microsoft office, photoshop, lightroom, bit torrent etc i was thinking i should get an external hard drive and download all the programs i am neglecting to download on the external and keep the internal hard drive clean but i feel like maybe i am wrong and you cant do that?

plz help so i dont buy useless crap, i am a photographer and need photoshop and have been waiting till i got an external till i download idk if i need that

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
09 MBP 8GB ram 500GB HD OS 10.9 32B iPad 4 32GB iPhone 5 iOs7 2TB TC Apple TV3
I would definitely get an external drive for Time Machine.
Most of my photo bug friends have a dedicated drive just for photos something you may consider depending on the size of your library.

OP
R
Reaction score
i understand getting a external for just photos but i am talking about is there a way i can install my programs i wants (photoshop,microsoft office,lightroom etc...) on JUST my external and keep it off my internal?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
G'day and welcome to the forums./

Yes and no.

Applications which are drag and drop can be installed on the external subject to its being formatted Mac OS Extended (Journaled). Applications that come with an Installer, such as Office as you mention and Apple applications, are better on the boot drive.

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
i understand getting a external for just photos but i am talking about is there a way i can install my programs i wants (photoshop,microsoft office,lightroom etc...) on JUST my external and keep it off my internal?