How do you clone a MBP Hard Drive?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP "A-1178" : 2.53 GHz/4 GB RAM - NVIDIA GeForce 9400M/500 GB HD & Mavericks
I have a MPB (2.53 GHz Intel) with 4 GB RAM; I am running OS X ver.10.6.8. with a 120 GB drive that has 101 GB of free space.

I am new to the Mac World but, for what it is worth, I am Comp TIA A+ Certified (that and $5 bucks might get me a cup of coffee at StarBucks).;P

If, I was working on a PC, I could use my GHOST program to boot to a DOS environment and then clone the second drive but, I must admit that I am lost (still RTFM) making the transition from PC to Mac.

So, all my associate had lying around was a 120 GB HD after he pulled his personal HD out before giving me his "Old" MPB. :Blushing:

I have a 320 GB (still sealed in box) HD that I want install in my MPB. I also have an external USB SATA Hard Drive fixture. Just to test it, I inserted a 80 Gig HD in the fixture and plugged it into my MPB and clicked on Time Machine and, the computer asked if I wanted to start Time Machine; I selected "Later" and bailed with the knowledge that I had all the hardware that I needed.

Now, how do I transfer the OS from the HD in the computer to the one in the USB holder?

Submitted from: My Windows Vista Desktop.

bobtomay

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15" MBP '06 2.33 C2D 4GB 10.7; 13" MBA '14 1.8 i7 8GB 10.11; 21" iMac '13 2.9 i5 8GB 10.11; 6S
With 10.6.8 you can use either SuperDuper! or CarbonCopyCloner. I use the former.

Slydude

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
M1 MacMini 16 GB - Ventura, iPhone 14 Pro Max, 2015 iMac 16 GB Monterey
You can also clone the drive using Disk Utility. See the section on restoring data. It is not my program of choice though because it does not do incremental cloning.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Silver M1 iMac 512/16/8/8 macOS 11.6
Superuper for me. With the registered version, about $30.00, you can do a five minute weekly backup using SD's SmartCopy.