Gaming on a MacBook Pro

Reaction score
Hi y'all im new to MacBook's but love it so far. The only problem I have is im a moderate gamer. Nothing extreme but I enjoy games like Civ 5 and Darkspore. I would like to jump up the Video Card to give me a bit of a more enjoyable time while playing games in BootCamp. What are y'all's suggestions?

Thank you,
Egan

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
If you're a serious gamer, then you have to think about spending serious $$ on a MacBook Pro. If you're just a sometimes gamer, you can save $$ by purchasing the entry level MacBook Pro 13" machine. It's equipped with 4 GB of memory which you can upgrade yourself and it has an Intel HD 4000 integrated GPU that gives moderate to good performance for gaming.

OP
E
Reaction score
Ya I have a MacBook already. This is what i'm looking to beef up,
MacBook Pro
13-inch, Mid 2012
Processor 2.9 GHz Intel Core i7
Memory 8 GB 1600 MHz DDR3
Graphics Intel HD Graphics 4000 512 MB
Serial Number C02J77K9DTY4
Software OS X 10.8.2 (12C3012)

Could I do anything with that? I'm not opposed to changing the Motherboard if need be.

Raz0rEdge

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2022 Mac Studio M1 Max, 2023 M2 MBA
Welcome to Mac-Forums

If my "jump up", you mean upgrade the video card, you cannot do that. The graphics chip is an integral part of the logic board.

The 15" MBP most likely has the upgraded video chipset, but it's logic board is not compatible with the 13" MBP. You can't really swap out the logic board randomly, you have what you have. The upgrades that you can do to an MBP (depending on the model) are upgrading memory, installing an SSD.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 17" 2011, 2.3GHz Intel Quad-Core i7, 8GB RAM, MacMini 2011, 2.7GHz Intel Dual-Core i7, 8GB RAM