Clickfree of PC to MacBook

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro
I am new to Mac and want to transfer 3 GB of image and doc files to a MacBook. I have a clickfree backup but it is hundreds of zip files and I only want to transfer some of the images, videos and docx files over to the MAC. I am looking for the best way.
USB to USB? iCloud?
Where can I read the benefits of the various options. I don't need to keep them in sync.

Suggestions?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini i5 (2014 High Sierra), iPhone X, Apple Watch, iPad Pro 12.9, AppleTV (4)
Where do you want to transfer them from?

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
Dropbox is a terrible idea for this. Not only would that require a paid account (since the free ones top out at 2GB) but uploading all the data just to download it again would take forever.

I haven't got the slightest clue how ClickFree works but it looks like it uses it's own method of storing files. If you can, use their Mac client. Otherwise, you'll need to find a compatible app or use something else to create the backup.

OP
B
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro
OK, this is looking similar to getting help from Microsoft. I start Migration Assistant on my new Mac and the app tells me to download migrate-to-mac from apple.com. Well, guess what. when I click on apple.com/migrate-to-mac, apple doesn't have the application. This is a new MacBook Pro. It should have the latest Migration Assistant on it? Shouldn't apple still have the application migrate-to-mac or have the URL tell you what the latest solution is?
I already discounted Dropbox and it takes too long plus the annual subscription cost for a one time deal.
The Migration Assistant is the best solution.

dtravis7

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacMini M-1 MacOS Monterey, iMac 2010 27"Quad I7 , MBPLate2011, iPad Pro10.5", iPhoneSE