Can someone teach me how to use Winebottler?

Reaction score
I'm new to Mac and there are a lot of Windows applications I would like to use. I have the .exe files but I need someone to teach me how to use it. I've tried using the thing to convert the Windows program to a Mac app. It creates the app and when I try to open it it quits immediately. Can you give me a tutorial?

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2019 iMac 27"; 2020 M1 MacBook Air; macOS up-to-date... always.
I haven't used WineBottler in some time, but it can be a little confusing. Here's a link (below) to a bunch of tutorials. Be aware that not everything will run properly under WINE though. Also be aware that you are not actually converting a Windows program into a Mac app, although for all intents and purposes it looks like you have if all goes well. Are there any particular apps you are having problems with?

https://startpage.com/do/metasearch.pl?language=english&query=winebottler tutorial

EDIT: A quick way to see if your Windows program can run under WINE is to check the compatibility list for Crossover. Crossover is a commercial program that uses WINE to accomplish the same thing you are trying to do. If a program is known to not work under Crossover, then forget getting it to work under WineBottler.
http://www.codeweavers.com/compatibility/

OP
M
Reaction score
Thanks for your help! So what can I do? Should I install Linux? Can it run Windows programs. How would I install Linux?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Linux can not run Windows programs. Linux runs Linux programs. Did you check the WineBottler tutorial that was suggested to you? I run WineBottler for several old Windows programs (games) that I have but each required a rather complex manual install.