View Full Version : iTab: Mac OS Tablet - available now!

01-18-2006, 08:32 PM

"We're all excited about the MacBook Pro announcement, but of course disappointed that there's no Apple DVR, SmartPhone, MacBook ultraportable or Mac Tablet -- okay at least some are disappointed. But wait, there is a Mac Tablet, sort of. An innovative US-based company named ThePlaceforitAll.com has taken it upon themselves to make a touchscreen Apple mobile computer available. They're dubbing it the "iTab". The iTab is actually a reconfigured 12-inch iBook retooled with a touchscreen and this is not a mass manufacturing operation, rather each device is retooled by hand and then sold on eBay. You can visit the auction for these devices on eBay where bidding starts at $1,500. Basic specs for the iTab are:

* Apple iBook 12-inch body converted with a touchscreen
* 1.33GHz G4
* 512MB of memory
* 40GB HD
* Mac OS X 10.4.
* 802.11b/g
* Bluetooth 2.0"

iTab website (http://www.itablet.theplaceforitall.com/)

iTab ebay auction - $1500 (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&ssPageName=ADME:L:LCA:US:31&item=8750636690)

Photo (http://www.tabletpcreviewspot.com/assets/749.jpg)

01-18-2006, 08:34 PM
I posted that awhile back and no one responded to my post. I wouldn't buy one, seems fake.

01-18-2006, 09:55 PM
if you read carefully you'll see that it hasn't even been built yet

The iTab is not built yet

01-18-2006, 10:32 PM
I posted that awhile back and no one responded to my post. I wouldn't buy one, seems fake.

D'oh! Apparently the "search" feature of this forum isn't all that great :)

01-18-2006, 10:40 PM

He didn't post the name iTab so of course you can't find it searching for that but a quick search for tablet and it came right up

01-19-2006, 10:23 AM
The iTablet (original) has even been presented in the MacWorld with other mods but it is supossed to be the only one, i did answered your post mynameis, with a link to the original site (MacMods.com) wich describes all the steps required to make one.
It is possible to do what he/she offers, but as any other eBay auction, it has several risks.

EDIT: After checking the website, i wouldn't trust this guy. There is no proof that he/she has done this before, not even a single real/original picture, and it tries too hard to look like an Apple website.

01-19-2006, 12:14 PM
i'd have to agree that this seems a little hokey to me. the guy is trying a little to hard to seem legit.

my vote would be a "no buy".

01-25-2006, 03:57 AM
Besides, I wouldn't want to touch the screen anyway, it would get dirty.

01-27-2006, 04:45 PM
That would be amazing. I would buy one!