MacBook cd/DVD

Reaction score
I have just bought a 4 year old recon 13" MacBook. I am new to apple apart from an iPad. So I bought a starter book and cd for mac beginners. But I cannot get the cd to play. It goes in the slot ok but just sits there, faint sounds from inside. Eventually I have to eject it. I got another similar brand new disc, same thing happened. The drive itself seems o.k. It plays other cd/DVDs. The opp system is os x mountain lion which the disc is intended for.
I've struggled reading up on this but not getting anywhere. Can anybody help. Thanks ormegolf

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Try testing that CD you purchased in another computer. It can be another Mac or a PC to see if it plays OK there.

OP
O
Reaction score
MacBookcd/DVD

Hello and thanks for your reply. Yes it works O.K. on a borrowed high tech new Mac and,of course, Ive tried two identical discs in my mac. SoI am reasonably sure that wherever the problem is, its in the drive or I've even heard it mentioned that it might be a harddrive fault. Now Im getting worried. Ormegolf

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It does sound like the optical drive may be at fault. I would try cleaning it to see if that resolves the problem. I recommend buying a can of compressed air and blowing several short blasts into the drive. That may clear out dust or debris that could be blocking or obscuring the laser light. If that doesn't work, you'll either have to change out the drive or buy an external model to use.

OP
O
Reaction score