Mail Attachments

Reaction score
Hi I'm new to the Mac world, so far I like it but I have a problem I cant seem to resolve. I want to send attachments on e-mails, but I want them as attachments not part of the main message, I have tried JPEG and it doesn't work. I have sent a .doc without problems. What am I doing wrong please, it's driving me crazy!!!

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
I believe depending on the other person's mail program and settings, it may just show up as an attachment, sort of like with Gmail and Outlook. I THINK it only looks embedded on your end.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac i5 2.9 Ghz, 15" MBPro i7 2.0 Ghz, iPhone 5, iPhone 4s, ATV2, ATV3, iPad2, iPad Mini
Attachments as Icons

Hi I'm new to the Mac world, so far I like it but I have a problem I cant seem to resolve. I want to send attachments on e-mails, but I want them as attachments not part of the main message, I have tried JPEG and it doesn't work. I have sent a .doc without problems. What am I doing wrong please, it's driving me crazy!!!

When you compose an email with an attachment and it is showing as the complete image, just "Right Click" or "Option Click" the attachment, and you will be presented with the Option Menu, then just select "View Icon".

Unfortunately sometimes the default is the "View in Place" option and like yourself I prefer to send the attachment with just the icon showing.

Hope that helps.
David

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBA 1.7 GHz Core i5, 4GB 1333 MHz DDR3 - Lion 10.7.4; Thunderbolt Display; 2011 iMac base w/SSD
Consider Attachment Tamer by Lokiware. Great little add on. Makes Mail work the way it should.

OP
M
Reaction score
Thank you for trying to help me but could you please explain in a little more detail!!! I must be more stupid than usual but I don't understand what you mean.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs