iBook G4

Reaction score
Hello. I'm new to Mac Forums, so bear with me.

I've been a Mac fan for about 10-11 years now, and though I've owned quite a few iPods and the like, I will be getting my first Mac computer in a few days. Let me rephrase that...I will be getting my brother's 6/7 year old iBook G4.1.3 (or 1.4) Ghz. 512MB RAM, 40GB HD and DVD drive with CD burning only. I'd like to spruce it up a bit without spending the equivalent of a new MacBook, though, ultimately, that's what I'd like to get. I'd like suggestions as to how much updating can be done to this machine. I do know that I would like to increase hard drive size, and RAM, and possibly replace the DVD drive with one capable of burning to DVD. Note: I do quite a bit of photo/graphic work, particularly with Photoshop.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
You could replace the hard drive fairly easily and upgrade the ram

It has USB 2 so consider an external DVD drive, much easier than finding a compatible internal drive for that mac

Dont spend too much money though, it can only take 2 gig of ram and will take a 2.5" ATA drive

C

chas_m

Note: I do quite a bit of photo/graphic work, particularly with Photoshop.

Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thank you.

This is a really super-bad idea unless you are planning on using a really, REALLY old version of Photoshop. And working on fairly low-rez images.

I appreciate that the machine is free, and I owned one of these machines myself. But now? Seriously?

Save your upgrade money. There's nothing that will really help that machine become an acceptable photo-editing solution.