New to Mac | Help

Reaction score
Hi everyone,

In my last post I explained I am new to Mac as I have just moved from Windows.
Basically, I would like to know all the essential information about using a Mac and if there are any decent programs I should consider getting.

Thanks, EnvyJack.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
mid 2012 13" MBP i5
Go to apple.com a click support, there will be a few videos there and of course try youtube. I would recommend crossover or wine if u want to use any windows programs. If you do like to draw i would also recommend autodesk sketchbook pro, also look for popular app in the mac app store maybe some trends, i know pages is nice if u like to tyoe and so on, and it is always good to have a widget or two for weather or cpu mourning. Find something you like to do or maybe you enjoy and look into it to see if there are apps and or widgets for such a thing

BrianLachoreVPI

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
March 2011 15" MBP 2.3GHz i7 Quad Core 8GB Ram | Mid 2011 27" iMac 3.4 GHz i7 16 GB RAM 2 TB HDD
Moved to a more appropriate forum.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21" iMac * 2.8 Ghz Intel Core i7 * 16GB 1333 Mhz DDR3 * 1TB HD *AMD Radeon HD 6770M 512 MB
A bit of a broad question, so here's some basic info...

A pretty thorough text tutorial can be found here:
Apple - Support - Mac 101

Here's a tutorial especially for Windows switchers:
Apple - Support - Switch 101

And if you are a visual learner like me, here are some video tutorials:
Apple - Find Out How - Mac Basics

Once you know the basics, you might want to download Perian, VLC Player and/or Flip4Mac to play Windows Media files and other miscellaneous formats.

Reaction score
New to forum and Macs