First mac user in a corporate environment

Reaction score
I've been a linux user for several years, but I'm afraid my windows experience is somewhat limited in that I haven't worked in many windows-centric environments. I'm also relatively new to the mac. (it is a pretty awesome OS though, I'm totally becoming a convert)

I'm basically the test dummy for a pilot program to start people using macs in the environment here at work. My first roadblock: several of our java jar files use hard coded urls such as
Code:
"Y:\Whatever\The\Path\Is"
. What I'd like to do is find a way to create simlinks or something like that such that we don't need to modify all those currently existing java projects to check to see if the path exists before opening the files.

Also, I'm having a hard time finding a mac-beginner irc channel where I can ask simple questions like this. Is there one?

vansmith

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mini (2014, 2018, 2020), MBA (2020), iPad Pro (2018), iPhone 13 Pro Max, Watch (S6)
This is actually indicative of a larger coding problem. Not to critique your entire development team but using hard coded paths just about kills any chance of not only portability but it also makes your apps incredibly inflexible. Relative paths are the key. Okay, rant over. ;)

Paths, as you've come to learn, are of an entirely different form. However, as long as the Windows share is mounted, you can symlink to that without issue. Where is the "Y drive" mounted to on your Mac right now?

OP
F
Reaction score
This is actually indicative of a larger coding problem. Not to critique your entire development team but using hard coded paths just about kills any chance of not only portability but it also makes your apps incredibly inflexible. Relative paths are the key. Okay, rant over. ;)