Thinking About the Switch

Reaction score
My household has been primarily a PC household for a long time. I run a Windows Home Server at home, with a few Windows 7 clients that back up to it. I stream from the WHS to my PS3, and I use the server to access my files from work. The built-in Dynamic DNS is nice for the remote access piece.

Over the last 6 months, my household has slowly gone mac. My wife and I both have iPhones, we each have iPads, and I now have a Macbook Air instead of my Windows 7 Laptop. We only have 1 Windows 7 machines left, and it will probably be replaced when my wife gets a new laptop (which will be another Macbook Air). So now, I need to replace the WHS with something more Mac compliant. Having JUST got my first Mac, I have little knowledge in this arena. What would you all recommend? I was thinking of maybe switching my WHS over to a hackintosh and trying to rebuild the features I use, which would be Remote Access with Dynamic DNS (VNC with DynDNS client), DLNA Streaming (Plex), and Centralized backup with bare metal restore (Time Machine).

My WHS could mostly be reused. I could swap my motherboard and CPU and have a pretty decent hackintosh I think. Is that the best way to go? Or would it be better to hack the WHS somehow for use with Time Machine?

Does anyone fulfill these requirements on a Mountain Lion Server?

C

chas_m

As Hackintoshes are illegal, we do not discuss nor condone anything to do with them.

Personally I think an Apple TV will meet or exceed 95% of what people use a home server for, and does it a lot more elegantly.

OP
H
Reaction score
As Hackintoshes are illegal, we do not discuss nor condone anything to do with them.

Personally I think an Apple TV will meet or exceed 95% of what people use a home server for, and does it a lot more elegantly.