Say hello to a newbie..

Reaction score
Hey guys,

My name is Chris and I'm new to the Mac laptop world but not to Apple products. In the past I've owned quite a few iPods, a couple iPod Touches and now have an iPad2 that I use almost all day every day.

My birthday was two days ago so I decided to upgrade to a better laptop since my current Acer Aspire 3690 needs work (new DC jack, new battery and new touchpad on top of a few other things). I was going to buy a 12" 1.07GHz iBook G4 off eBay but got my money back and my brother gave me his 15" 1.67GHz PowerBook G4 which is running 10.5.8 Leopard and has 768MB RAM. I'll be maxing out the ram to 2GB and that should be perfect for what it's going to be used for. I'm also going to clean it up a bit by removing ITunes, Safari, Firefox etc.

Any tips for me? I've been doing a lot of research and have a few apps in mind that I'm planning to install (Maintenance, TenFourFox and AppZapper).

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
That's fine, but I wouldn't remove iTunes unless you have another computers to sync and backup your ipods to

as for maintenance, Onyx is your best bet

As for app zapper, the free AppCleaner does the same thing

OP
C
Reaction score
I hardly use ITunes and if I do there's another computer for that.

OnyX does sound like my best bet for maintenance. Thank you for that.

I'll probably use AppCleaner > AppZapper (apparently the newest version can only be used on Snow Leopard). Again, thank you.

Anything else?

OP
C
Reaction score
Quick question:

I'm running Monolingual and I'm now removing architectures. My current architecture is PPC G4+. Can I remove all others?

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey