Mirrorless Cameras Have Arrived

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac 3.06 I3, 16Gig Ram, OSX 10.6.8
I've been field testing my new Sony NEX-5N mirrorless camera for a week now. Here's the best portrait I've taken in years, & I used to be a professional portrait photographer. I had my Sony 55-210mm F/4.5-6.3 lens aboard.

Child-In-Cave-XL.jpg

Child-In-Cave-Exif-XL.jpg

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2018 15" MBP, 2019 11" iPad Pro, iPhone 11 Pro
That is like looking at an HD movie or something. Crystal clear and brilliant colors.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
15-inch Early 2008; Processor 2.4 GHz Intel Core 2 Duo; Memory 4 GB 667 MHz DDR2 SDRAM; 10.7.5
Technically they've been around for quite some time, but you know that Bob. Olympus had the market well before every Tom **** and Harry got into it, and they continue to do very well in that segment.

Sony however, is doing very well IQ wise with their NEX line, and I'd love to have one except I can't stand the ergonomics and the dumb/unintuitive menu system. If you can get along with those things, more power to ya! Personally, I'm waiting for someone to get it absolutely right before plunking down money. And I have a feeling it won't be too much longer.

Sony ALMOST had it with their new RX-1, full frame mirrorless, except they blew it big time for not including an on board EVF and phase detect auto focus. Ridiculous.. It costs more than any of their other mirrorless cameras, and those include phase detect as well as an evf! ?! Dumb, dumb and dumb.

As for your portrait Bob, it's cracking. Cute subject!

Doug

OP
bobmielke
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
21.5" iMac 3.06 I3, 16Gig Ram, OSX 10.6.8
Technically they've been around for quite some time, but you know that Bob. Olympus had the market well before every Tom **** and Harry got into it, and they continue to do very well in that segment.