The volume is the wrong format for a backup.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
What format is your flash drive using? If it's formatted to NTFS it will be read only and you won't be able to write (drag photos) to it.

OP
D
Reaction score
Sorry as a total novice I dont know what it means ! It is a new stick, info says 16.01GB SanDisk Cruze. I tried formatting in MS-Dos (FAT) as instructed but no good, I used it twice last week successfully - but after deleting some old photos yesterday it refuses to work and brings up the message'The volume is the wrong format for a backup.'

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It sounds like your SanDisk Cruze is corrupt. Those flash drives are pre-formatted as FAT-32 and designed to work for both PC and Mac.

Plug the drive into your Mac and open Disk Utility (Applications, Utilities, Disk Utility.app). Erase the drive first and then format it to MS DOS. Make sure the "MBR" scheme is selected. (should be automatic) If the drive will not format, it may be defective and should be returned for a new one.

C

chas_m

This may well have happened if you have been "pulling" the stick out without properly dismounting it.

Reaction score
Watch out for foreign characters in file names

Hi all...
Having come across this problem a few times myself, I thought I'd post this reply just in case none of the above solutions don't work for you. Although the above are all valid, there is ANOTHER reason other than these that you may receive this error even if your drive is operating perfectly: Foreign characters in file names, i.e. extended character sets.