Greetings from a Newbie

Reaction score
Hi There ... well I am a Newbie to this site but have been using Macs in all shapes and sizes fr a number of years .. but i digress...

I am a University Lecturer based in Portugal and we run a 7 Mac Mini edit suite
The specs are as follows:
4 Mac Mini 1.83Ghz Intel 2Duo 1GB RAM 667MHz DDR2 running 10.5.8
2 Mac Mini 2 Ghz Intel 2 Duo 2GB RAM 1067Mhz DDR3 running 10.5.8
1 Mac Mini 2.53Ghz Intel 2 Duo 4Gb 1067 Mhz DDR3 running 10.6.8

Ok as you can see 1 of them (the newest) is running Snow Leopard .. now I have some problems with the others , especially response times when running software such as Final Cut Express.
Would it make a huge difference if I were to upgrade all to Snow Leopard or even Lion ?
Or is it more a RAM issue ?
Is Snow Leopard still available ?
Is there any good software out there to improve reaction speed ?
I know that Mac Keeper is to be avoided ... yes have read the posts .. but how about Stellar Speed Up ?? Anyone used it any comments ?
We use Sophos Anti Virus .. anyone had any bad experiences with it ?
Is Lion all its cracked up to be ?

Thanks

Mac;D

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
RAM is the main issue, both the older models need at least 4 GIG to run programs like FCP well

Apple Mac mini Specs (All Mac mini Technical Specs) @ EveryMac.com

What's the free hard disk space like on those, a nearly full hard disk is going to effect performance.

You can buy Snow Leopard from Ebay, but all those machines can run Mountain Lion (with at least 2 GIG RAM), Mountain Lion which is inexpensive. Just make sure non of your vital applications are not older, pre 2006 PowerPC programs, they will no longer work in Lion or Mountain Lion

To upgrade all three, you have to doawnload it on the newer Snow Leopard one and create a bootable drive to install the others

But upgrade the RAM first, leave the OS upgrade for later

Reaction score