Accessing PDF Files with Lion

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20 in. IMac 9,1, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.66 GHZ, 2 GB 1067MHz2 DDR3, NVIDIA GForce 9400 256MB, OSX 10.8.
I am a newbie for Mac and to a forum so here goes....I updated to Mountain Lion and now I lost the ability to pull up and read PDF files. I have set "Preview" as default and even downloaded "Reader"...still no luck. All my online important documents are now coming in as PDF's and I can no longer access them. Help!!:

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" i7 iMac. Intel Quad Core. 16 GB Ram.
Have you tried going to your PDF file and right clicking on the PDF you wish to open, then open with, then Preview.

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
20 in. IMac 9,1, Intel Core 2 Duo, 2.66 GHZ, 2 GB 1067MHz2 DDR3, NVIDIA GForce 9400 256MB, OSX 10.8.
PDF files

I have. That works with a PDF document that I get in email but when I go to a site such as my banking site and click of the PDF I get a black screen in Safari and a blank screen in Firefox. I even tried to pull up a PDF tax form from an unrelated site and get nothing.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Just double click the PDF on the Bank site and it will download, then go to your downloads folder and drag it to your PDF Folder. You will be able to open it with Preview from there.

I had the same problem with my Credit Card account and my Bank until I discovered that method.

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks, I will try that again. Maybe I missed something. I can get to that last step when it is supposed to open the file. That's when I get the black or blank screen. I will give it another try. I appreciate your trying to help me.

OP
L
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Thanks Bill. I followed the instructions and am still getting a black screen. Sounds like a visit to the Apple store to me.
I really appreciate the responses I have received.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs