New iMac user

Reaction score
Bought a used 21.5 iMac yesterday that had been purchased new last March. In addition to the basics, it has extra RAM and Office Mac installed. The seller tried to get everything of his deleted out, but it still shows as his compter in several places. Is there a way to sort of re-boot the machine to make it like a new computer? Something like a re-install? I'm brand new at this Mac business and am just exploring what I've purchased. Would appreciate any help and advice you can give me to sort of get me going in the right direction. Thanks from a real iMac greenhorn.

Ewbone

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27" i7 iMac. Intel Quad Core. 16 GB Ram.
If you got the Disc with it, and you should have, then do a re-install. Then go to the App store and download the updates.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
You can reinstall the operating system fresh and that will remove everything including the old owner's name and software. Unless he gave you the original disk set for MS Office, you don't own the license to it anyway.

However, you will have to purchase your own copy of the operating system (assuming Lion or Mountain Lion) otherwise you will be unable to download a new copy to install fresh. If the computer was purchased last March it came pre-installed with Lion.

Let us know what you would like to do and someone here will give you the steps you need to take in order to put a fresh copy of OS X (I recommend Mountain Lion) on the iMac.

OP
E
Reaction score
New to iMac

You can reinstall the operating system fresh and that will remove everything including the old owner's name and software. Unless he gave you the original disk set for MS Office, you don't own the license to it anyway.