Yet, another Switcher

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
13" Retina MBP 2015
PC user from the beginning of time will switch next month big time!

I have the pad; now comes for me the iPhone 5 and an anti-glare 15" MBP.

Wife has the pad; now comes for her the 4S, and either an 11 or 13 MBA. I want her to get the 13 in case I have a fixit problem with my 15.

I am a photographer and live in Lightroom and Photoshop; of course, also Office.

No gaming etc.

Today's plan is to buy a basic machine with the 2.6 processor.

Upgrade RAM to 16; replace the 5400 with a 240 6G SSD; replace the optical with a 480 3g Extreme. How really hard is it to do the hardware upgrades; any suggestions? How long should it take?

I will get the Apple Care and 1 to 1.

The Moshi and Thunderbolt cables; should I wait and buy from a place like Fry’s?

I did not opt to buy any of the offered extra software; any must haves?

Software: any particular programs that I should seriously consider, e.g., do I need Parallels?

Other switchers, past or present, any recommended digital books etc to help with the switch?

All suggestions greatly appreciated;

C

chas_m

PC user from the beginning of time will switch next month big time!

Congrats!

Software: any particular programs that I should seriously consider, e.g., do I need Parallels?

Other switchers, past or present, any recommended digital books etc to help with the switch?

All suggestions greatly appreciated;

You don't need Parallels et al.

If you really need Office, get Office: but have a look at Pages, Keynote and Numbers. Sadly I don't think Apple does 30-day trials on them anymore but they're super cheap ($20 each) and delightful alternatives (though very different than Office, but in IMO a good way)

Download and install the free Flip4Mac WMV Player and Perian. This will make QuickTime play other formats without moaning.

For books, I'd suggest " Switching to the Mac.

Enjoy!

OP
Luvntravln
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs