iMac for photography

Reaction score
Hi, I'm sure there are squillians of posts about which iMac to buy for photo editing but I'm still unsure.

I'm a photography student and have decided on an iMac due to the fact I will be using them at college. I'm not a pro but aim to be in the future. I've settled on the 27" model as seeing the 21.5 and 27 side by side and seeing the extra screen space I dont see any comparison really.

I'm angling towards the basic 27" i5 model because as a student although I will be using it a lot I probably won't be using it intensively. I shall most likely be running photoshop cs6 and bridge together, maybe LR4 and have multiple web pages open. I won't be using it for video editing but may watch the odd film here and there.

Is it neccessary to upgrade to i7? Or should I concentrate on just upping the RAM to 16gb? I believe the standard 512mb graphics card should be ok for my needs. My other question is about the SSD. Would this be beneficial or is the 1TB HD enough with an extra external HD? Is it worth the extra 300 or so quid for the drive? I'm not so sure.

I'm looking at this as a 12 month investment so I'm not too concerned with future proofing since by the time I decide to go pro the i7 will probably be in the same position as the i5 and SSD may come as standard.

Any thoughts/suggestions/advice will be most welcome.

P.s. I have about £1500 to spend but could stretch to accommodate i7 if neccessary but probably not an SSD.

RavingMac

Staff member
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
16Gb Mac Mini 2018, 15" MacBook Pro 2012 1 TB SSD
If you are looking at upgrading in the next 1 to 2 years especially, I wouldn't bother upgrading anything over the base i5 27in iMac. And, you really ought to consider an Apple refurb. They are generally like new with same as new warranty at as size able discount.

Just make sure to buy it direct from Apple.

OP
J
Reaction score