• The Mac-Forums Community Guidelines (linked at the top of every forum) are very clear, we respect US law and court precedence when it comes to legality of activity.

Therefore to clarify:
    • You may not discuss breaking DVD or BluRay encryption, copying, or "ripping" commercial, copy-protected DVDs.
    • This includes DVDs or BluRays you own. Even if you own the DVD or BluRay, it is still technically illegal under the DMCA to break the encryption. While some may argue otherwise, until the law is rewritten or the US Supreme Court strikes it down, we will adhere to the current intent of the law.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying unprotected movies or homemade DVDs.
    • You may discuss ripping or copying tools in the context that they are used for legal purposes as outlined in this post.

Are my videos lost?

Reaction score
I have an IMac which I am still learning to use. Prior to that, I had a Dell PC. When I used my camera for videos with my PC, they automatically downloaded along with my pictures. I learned that's not the case with my Mac. I had some videos that were very important to me. I downloaded pictures into iphoto thinking my videos downloaded as well. Then on my Sony camera, I decided to delete everything from my memory card. I realized almost immediately that I had made a mistake and although my pictures were there in iphoto, my videos were gone. I even took my memory card to a professional at a computer shop to see if he could recover the videos, but no luck. I'm just wondering if by any chance if someone would know if when I downloaded to iphoto, but some miracle, the videos did download someplace? Is this even possible or are they lost forever? Thank you to anyone who may be able to answer my question. I could kick myself for being so stupid or not at least checking to make sure my videos downloaded before deleting them from my memory card.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MBP 7,1 13" 2.66 C2D; BlackMB 1,1 13" 2.0 coreduo