need help with my macbook pro and an external hard drive.

aff

Reaction score
hi, i am a complete beginner and know very little about macs and computers in general so need lots of help!!!

i just bought a new macbook pro and i transferred all of my photos from my old laptop to an external hard drive. when i tried to edit the photos i could see them all but couldn't save to the hard drive or make any changes or anything?

i googled this problem and installed the following:

You need a couple of pieces of software to make it and its all free too :)
the first is MacFuse:
http://code.google.com/p/macfuse/down...
just download whatever the latest release is and install using the instructions
After you've done that then download NTFS-3G which is at
http://www.tuxera.com/mac/ntfs-3g-201...
You should now be able to read and write to any ntfs drive without a problem

then i got all sorts of problems!! my mac book won't even recognise my external hard drive anymore. i tried to uninstall the two programmes but i don't really know how to do that so i don't think its completely gone from my macbook because when i plug in my hard drive it comes up with the following error...

NTFS-3G could not mount /dev/disk1s1
at /Volumes/Expansion Drive because the following problem occurred:

dyld: Library not loaded: /usr/local/lib/libfuse.2.dylib
Referenced from: /usr/local/bin/ntfs-3g
Reason: image not found

So basically what I'm asking is the following:

how do i get rid of these two programmes completely?
and how do i access my photos and be able to make changes to them?

thanks guys

chris

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
It's too bad you didn't come here first. We would have told you not to install MacFuse NTFS 3G as the program is no longer being developed and is buggy.

To uninstall see the following Apple Discussions Forum article: LINK