About to buy. Need quick opinions.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
27' iMac, 2.8 GHz Intel Core i5, 16GB Ram. 10.8.2 OSX
Hey Guys,

I'm about to buy yet another external HD. I guess I'm a bit backup over cautious.

I've currently got a 1TB WD My book for my Time Machine.
I've got a 2TB WD My book for extra data that I don't store directly on my Mac.

I'm going to buy a 3TB drive that I can create two partitions on and use Carbon Copy on each of them.

One partition will be a 1TB partition that will hopefully serve has my bootable clone of my iMac HD. The other partition will be a 2TB partition that I will use to clone my external 2TB drive so that it is actually getting backed up.

I'm looking into a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk Kit 3TB. It is 139.99 on CDW.com.

I've never used Seagate drives before.

Anyone got any experience with them that they would care to share?

Does anyone have any other suggestions? I have to keep the price down because my wife doesn't quite understand why I need 3 external drives and I think I'm pushing it with this one :).

Any assistance would be great. Thanks!

pigoo3

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 15" MBP, 16gig ram, 1TB SSD, OS 10.15
I'm looking into a Seagate FreeAgent GoFlex Desk Kit 3TB. It is 139.99 on CDW.com.

I've never used Seagate drives before.

Anyone got any experience with them that they would care to share?

There may have been a time 15-20 years ago when there might have been differences between hard drive brands...but for me personally...these days, I think that they're all pretty much the same. The most important thing is having backups...which it sounds like you're doing a great job with!:) Shop for the best price...and get that one.:)

Here's something else to consider. I sort of like the speed & flexibility of these docking stations (see below). This way you can:

- purchase "bare" drives less expensively