Trouble booting Fedora DVD on G4

Reaction score
I've spent the last 2 weeks searching around the net trying to figure out what I'm doing wrong (and right) and have found bits and pieces of info but still haven't put together a solution. I'm somewhat still new to Linux and haven't had any previous experience with burning iso images.

I took a 10 week course on Linux several years ago and recently dug out my book and decided to try to pick it up again. I'd like to familiarize myself with the Linux environment and get some more experience with it. The book covers Fedora 8 and so that's the distro I would like to stick with. Unfortunately the disc that came with it was meant for PC's or x86 or something. Since I have a G4 I searched the net for a ppc version and found one at:

Index of /pub/archive/fedora/linux/releases/8/Fedora/ppc/iso

I verified the iso using Terminal (Darwin) with a command I found online:

$ /usr/bin/openssl sha1 /Users/name/Desktop/Fedora-8-ppc-DVD.iso

returns: SHA1(/Users/name/Desktop/Fedora-8-ppc-DVD.iso)= d4a12f8864eaccf09bf3a8790bd8d6b758b72f64

That matches both the sha1sum on the web page and also the same one found in my book, but....

If I open disk utility and drag the iso file into left pane and click the verify icon up top I get:

Unable to verify "Fedora-8-ppc-DVD.so". This image has no checksum information to verify.

If I click the verify disk button below I get:

Verifying volume “Fedora 8 ppc DVD”
Checking HFS volume.
Invalid number of allocation blocks
The volume needs to be repaired.

Error: The underlying task reported failure on exit

1 HFS volume checked
Volume needs repair

So now I'm confused to whether this is a good iso or not. If I double-click the iso file it opens with the warning "The disk image you are opening may be damaged and could damage your system." I open it with no problems though. Is this the same as mounting?

If I try to open from disk utility I get: