Desktop Button

Reaction score
I have been using my iMac for a couple months now and love it.

I do have a question regarding a couple useful Windows features that I do not find the equivalent of on the iMac. There probably is something but I have just not found it.

First off, is there a SHOW DESKTOP shortcut like the bottom right of the taskbar in Win7? That was incredibly useful as all you had to do was pull the mouse down to the right and you found it.

The second thing I really made use of was the Snipping tool. Is there an equivalent?

Thanks for any suggestions

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz I7 4GB mem version 10.10 Yosemite // Ipad3 // iPhone 4S
I have been using my iMac for a couple months now and love it.

I do have a question regarding a couple useful Windows features that I do not find the equivalent of on the iMac. There probably is something but I have just not found it.

First off, is there a SHOW DESKTOP shortcut like the bottom right of the taskbar in Win7? That was incredibly useful as all you had to do was pull the mouse down to the right and you found it.

The second thing I really made use of was the Snipping tool. Is there an equivalent?

Thanks for any suggestions

Shift, command, 4 at the same time will let you snip something on your screen.
Shift, command, 3 will do an entire screen shot.
I don't have an IMac but on my MacBook Pro you just swipe 3 fingers up to get to the desk top.

Read this

http://support.apple.com/kb/HT1343?viewlocale=en_US&locale=en_US

OP
BCRose
Reaction score
Played with that swipe, its all fingers pulling in to show desktop, reverse takes you back. Thanks.

Ok, the screen snip thing work but where does the snipped image go? I cannot find it. I tried pasting but nothing on clipboard.

Still learning the little things...

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro 2.8 GHz I7 4GB mem version 10.10 Yosemite // Ipad3 // iPhone 4S
When I do it it goes to my desk top.