Just got my first Mac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MD318LL/A
Well, I decided to buy an iPod about 2 years ago to learn how general support of iPads/iPhones and the such went. I'm a computer professional of the engineering variety, but didn't like being blindsided by non-Windows devices.

To say the least I was impressed enough that a couple months back I bought an iPad. That impressed me enough, that this last Friday, I got myself a MD318LL/A MacBook Pro.

I've got to say so far I'm impressed again. Setup was easy, both of OS X and Windows 7 with bootcamp(probably one of the easiest from the dvd installs I've ever had).

So far everything has been pretty smooth sailing with learning the OS. I still have some confusion about browsing the harddrive(finder is not quite the same as explorer, eh?). But, after only a couple of days that doesn't seem like a terrible list.

I'm really looking forward to learning AppleScript and the terminal in OS X too. If anyone has any favourite sites for either of those that'd be appreciated. I'll browse through the forum later looking for similar threads.

Anyhow, I hope everyone else is enjoying their "switch" as well.

chscag

Staff member
Admin
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
2017 27" iMac, 10.5" iPad Pro, iPhone 8, iPhone 11, iPhone 12 Mini, Numerous iPods, Monterey
Welcome to the Mac Forums.

And congratulations on purchasing a new MBP. Many of us (myself included) own both Mac and Windows machines. Always a pleasure for me to get back on my iMac after working with the Win box for awhile. :)

Read our forum Sticky Posts which you will find at the top of each of our separate forums. There's a wealth of information there. We are also working (our very fine editorial team) on a series of Blogs which I think you will find most helpful.

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Mac Mini Core i7 2012 | White 2009 MacBook 2 Ghz | 733 Mhz G4 Quicksilver
Keep coming back with specific questions