New Word Update for Mac

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
MacBook Pro Retina 3.0 GHz Intel Core i7 8 GB 1600 Mhz DDR3/Mac Mini 2.3GHz Intel i7 Quad Core 16RAM
The last two updates for Word have caused nothing but problems. The first one caused Word to crash if I clicked on file/open recent. This last update will not even allow me to open word. Can someone explain to me how to uninstall the most recent updates? I would really, really appreciate it. I am a writer and my muse is screaming at me and I can't write! Ugh! :'(

Thank you in advance for ANY help you can offer. :D

Also if I am in the wrong forum please let me know, I will move it! :)

Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
Macbook Pro Mid 2012
Hmm I don't seem to be having any problems with it. I suppose you could uninstall office and reinstall and not update it.

cwa107

Retired Staff
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs
14" MacBook Pro M1 Pro, 16GB RAM, 1TB SSD
I think you have an underlying problem that is causing Word to crash. Not even Microsoft would release an update that creates a problem with such basic functionality as opening a document.

My first step would be to reinstall Office, following these steps closely:

How to completely remove Office for Mac 2011

Then, when finished, ensure your Mac is completely up-to-date by running Software Update (Apple Menu => Software Update). Then, run Disk Utility (Applications => Utilities => Disk Utility). Select your Macintosh HD volume in the left window pane, select the First Aid tab in the right pane. Run Verify/Repair Permissions and Verify/Repair Disk.

When this is through, reinstall Office 2011. Then, before you do anything in it, install all the latest updates. You should be good to go. If not, something more serious is at play here with your Mac - I'd need to know the specifics of your machine's config in order to advise you further.

OP
cherry_bomb
Reaction score
Your Mac's Specs